Thu 2nd July
Fri 3rd July
Sat 4th July
Sun 5th July
Mon 6th July
Tue 7th July
Wed 8th July
Thu 9th July
Fri 10th July
Sat 11th July
Sun 12th July
Mon 13th July
Tue 14th July
Wed 15th July
Thu 16th July
Fri 17th July
Sat 18th July
Sun 19th July
Thu 2st July
Fri 3st July
Sat 4st July
Sun 5st July
Mon 6st July
Tue 7st July
Wed 8st July
Thu 9st July
Fri 10st July
Sat 11st July
Sun 12st July
Mon 13st July
Tue 14st July
Wed 15st July
Thu 16st July
Fri 17st July
Sat 18st July
Sun 19st July
Go Back

Back

Past MIF events


Kurt d’Haeseleer

Kurt created the film Long Grass which was part of the Once Upon a Story events. These were part of MIF13. For more information, please visit the event page by following the link in the left hand panel.

Kurt is the artistic director of the Werktank, a production house for media art in Bierbeek that has its roots in the former artist collective the Filmfabriek. He has produced several videos and (interactive) installations, e.g. Scripted Emotions, Fossilization and S*CKMYP, which took part in international festivals and shows in Rotterdam, Tokyo, Montreal, Paris and Berlin. Kurt also works regularly as a video designer for theatre, dance and opera. His work focuses on the visualisation of the dynamic of information. Special effects play an important role in his work that can best be described as a ‘pixel drama’ and which can be found in the borders between painting, video clips, cinema and performance. In his work the special effect is the message. He is well known for his extreme video manipulations; manipulating images by forcing them to react to the parameters of other images. With this approach, he can only partly foresee how the image will appear. The result is a process that strongly resembles developing analogue photographs, where it is always a surprise to see the result, or even alchemy, but that is in fact entirely digital.

Festival Square

What's On

Your Journey

Visitor Information

Box Office

0844 871 7654
Opening Hours
FAQs

Donate

Support MIF

Subscribe

Manchester International Festival is the world’s first festival of original, new work and special events and takes place biennially, in Manchester, UK. The Festival launched in 2007 as an artist-led, commissioning Festival presenting new works from across the spectrum of performing arts, visual arts and popular culture.


Manchester International Festival, Blackfriars House, Parsonage, Manchester M3 2JA
t +44 (0)161 817 4500 f +44 (0)161 839 2662 email info@mif.co.uk

© Manchester International Festival All Rights Site Map Privacy Terms & Conditions WEB