Thu 2nd July
Fri 3rd July
Sat 4th July
Sun 5th July
Mon 6th July
Tue 7th July
Wed 8th July
Thu 9th July
Fri 10th July
Sat 11th July
Sun 12th July
Mon 13th July
Tue 14th July
Wed 15th July
Thu 16th July
Fri 17th July
Sat 18th July
Sun 19th July
Thu 2th July
Fri 3th July
Sat 4th July
Sun 5th July
Mon 6th July
Tue 7th July
Wed 8th July
Thu 9th July
Fri 10th July
Sat 11th July
Sun 12th July
Mon 13th July
Tue 14th July
Wed 15th July
Thu 16th July
Fri 17th July
Sat 18th July
Sun 19th July

Venue

Albert Hall
Peter Street, Manchester M2 5QJ This venue is subject to licence

Are We Powerless? Evan Davis

Can protest have an impact on the world’s financial powers? Are we simply victims of the financial crisis? Or, given the benefits that the global economy has delivered for so many of us, are we too complicit in the system to equate ourselves with the valiant protestors of Peterloo? Five years on from the crash, what demands should today’s many be making? Do we have the power to bring about change?

Economist and broadcaster Evan Davis chaired a panel of leading thinkers in their fields for a discussion of these issues, incorporating a question-and-answer session with the audience.

The panel:
Evan Davis (Chair)
Louise Cooper
Adam Curtis
Ismail Erturk
Owen Jones
Dr Judith Shapiro

Commissioned and produced by Manchester International Festival.

Festival Square

What's On

Your Journey

Visitor Information

Box Office

0844 871 7654
Opening Hours
FAQs

Donate

Support MIF

Subscribe

Manchester International Festival is the world’s first festival of original, new work and special events and takes place biennially, in Manchester, UK. The Festival launched in 2007 as an artist-led, commissioning Festival presenting new works from across the spectrum of performing arts, visual arts and popular culture.


Manchester International Festival, Blackfriars House, Parsonage, Manchester M3 2JA
t +44 (0)161 817 4500 f +44 (0)161 839 2662 email info@mif.co.uk

© Manchester International Festival All Rights Site Map Privacy Terms & Conditions WEB