Thu 2nd July
Fri 3rd July
Sat 4th July
Sun 5th July
Mon 6th July
Tue 7th July
Wed 8th July
Thu 9th July
Fri 10th July
Sat 11th July
Sun 12th July
Mon 13th July
Tue 14th July
Wed 15th July
Thu 16th July
Fri 17th July
Sat 18th July
Sun 19th July
Thu 2th July
Fri 3th July
Sat 4th July
Sun 5th July
Mon 6th July
Tue 7th July
Wed 8th July
Thu 9th July
Fri 10th July
Sat 11th July
Sun 12th July
Mon 13th July
Tue 14th July
Wed 15th July
Thu 16th July
Fri 17th July
Sat 18th July
Sun 19th July

Venue

Palace Theatre
Oxford St Manchester M1 6FT

Dr Dee Damon Albarn & Rufus Norris

After premiering at MIF11, Manchester International Festival took Dr Dee to London.

Damon Albarn’s heartfelt hymn to Albion was brought to life by Rufus Norris in a vivid, almost hallucinatory staging that perfectly reflected the alchemical obsessions of Doctor John Dee. With a score that knitted together Elizabethan instruments, the BBC Philharmonic and Albarns unmistakeable ear for melody, this was a magical evening that utterly reimagined Dee’s life, taking in five centuries of English history and the three realms of earth, heaven and hell. It was only fitting that it should premiere in Manchester where Dee spent then years in exile at Chetham’s library.

Commissioned by Manchester International Festival, London 2012 Festival and ENO.

With thanks to the BBC Philharmonic for their support and collaboration.

'Albarn's take on music theatre is full of magic and enchantment... There's a strikingly intense sparseness and modesty about this music, complemented by Norris's richly imaginative production.'
DAILY TELEGRAPH

English National Opera, LONDON
25 -29 June, 4- 7 July 2012

Festival Square

What's On

Your Journey

Visitor Information

Box Office

0844 871 7654
Opening Hours
FAQs

Donate

Support MIF

Subscribe

Manchester International Festival is the world’s first festival of original, new work and special events and takes place biennially, in Manchester, UK. The Festival launched in 2007 as an artist-led, commissioning Festival presenting new works from across the spectrum of performing arts, visual arts and popular culture.


Manchester International Festival, Blackfriars House, Parsonage, Manchester M3 2JA
t +44 (0)161 817 4500 f +44 (0)161 839 2662 email info@mif.co.uk

© Manchester International Festival All Rights Site Map Privacy Terms & Conditions WEB