Thu 2nd July
Fri 3rd July
Sat 4th July
Sun 5th July
Mon 6th July
Tue 7th July
Wed 8th July
Thu 9th July
Fri 10th July
Sat 11th July
Sun 12th July
Mon 13th July
Tue 14th July
Wed 15th July
Thu 16th July
Fri 17th July
Sat 18th July
Sun 19th July
Thu 2th July
Fri 3th July
Sat 4th July
Sun 5th July
Mon 6th July
Tue 7th July
Wed 8th July
Thu 9th July
Fri 10th July
Sat 11th July
Sun 12th July
Mon 13th July
Tue 14th July
Wed 15th July
Thu 16th July
Fri 17th July
Sat 18th July
Sun 19th July

Venue

Pavilion Theatre Festival Sq.
Albert Square, Manchester, GB

Jamal Edwards and SBTV presents Smokey's Barbers

I laughed. Out loud. Genuinely, not digitally… delightful and upbeat… British urban culture has gradually transcended entertainment platforms and British comedy theatre just seems like a natural and welcome progression.
MANCHESTER CONFIDENTIAL

Smokey's Barbers was already a big hit on YouTube but for MIF13 the show moved from screen to stage for the very first time. Jazzie Zonzolo (TJ in Anuvahood), Humza Arshad (Diary of a Badman), and Afolabi Dasaolu (aka A Dot) welcomed familiar faces to the salon for gossip, live music and frank discussion.

Man of the moment, voice of a generation and groundbreaking broadcaster, SB.TV’s Jamal Edwards curated a trio of witty, edgy and riotous events showcasing new talent from across the UK.

While Jamal went ‘Close Up’ with Manchester legend Dave Haslam to reveal all about his rapid rise, YouTube sitcom sensation Smokey’s Barbers hit the stage live for the first time; Ghetts History of Grime: Rebels with a Cause undressed one of Britain’s most exciting musical cultures and Jokes from the Hood’s fast-paced stand-up left audiences breathless.

Commissioned by Manchester International Festival.

 

 

 

Festival Square

What's On

Your Journey

Visitor Information

Box Office

0844 871 7654
Opening Hours
FAQs

Donate

Support MIF

Subscribe

Manchester International Festival is the world’s first festival of original, new work and special events and takes place biennially, in Manchester, UK. The Festival launched in 2007 as an artist-led, commissioning Festival presenting new works from across the spectrum of performing arts, visual arts and popular culture.


Manchester International Festival, Blackfriars House, Parsonage, Manchester M3 2JA
t +44 (0)161 817 4500 f +44 (0)161 839 2662 email info@mif.co.uk

© Manchester International Festival All Rights Site Map Privacy Terms & Conditions WEB