Thu 2nd July
Fri 3rd July
Sat 4th July
Sun 5th July
Mon 6th July
Tue 7th July
Wed 8th July
Thu 9th July
Fri 10th July
Sat 11th July
Sun 12th July
Mon 13th July
Tue 14th July
Wed 15th July
Thu 16th July
Fri 17th July
Sat 18th July
Sun 19th July
Thu 2nd July
View All
Fri 3rd July
Sat 4th July
View All
Sun 5th July
View All
Mon 6th July
View All
Tue 7th July
View All
Wed 8th July
View All
Thu 9th July
View All
Fri 10th July
View All
Sat 11th July
View All
Sun 12th July
View All
Mon 13th July
View All
Tue 14th July
View All
Wed 15th July
View All
Thu 16th July
View All
Fri 17th July
View All
Sat 18th July
View All
Sun 19th July
View All

Venue

Martin Harris Centre for Music & Drama
Cosmo Rodewald Concert Hall University of Manchester Oxford Road, Manchester, GB

Mark Andre

Often referencing spiritual or metaphysical themes, Andre’s music is complex and thought provoking, bringing together harmonious and discordant sounds to create something new and vital. A protégé of Helmut Lachenmann, Andre is the recipient of numerous awards for his deeply engaged and moving work.

The music of this remarkable composer was presented in two parts on the evening. Part 1 saw the screening of two films by Pierre Reimer made to accompany two large-scale orchestral compositions by Mark Andre: the world premiere of hij and the Uk premiere of modell, plus a live piano performance of Andre’s iv1 by Yukiko Sugawara. Part 2 featured a selection of Andre’s chamberworks performed by the leading exponents of L’Instant Donné.

Produced by Manchester International Festival in association with Festival d’Automne à Paris.

MIF
would like to thank Josephine Markovits, Sir Brian McMaster and Diaphonique, the Franco-British fund for contemporary music.

Related Content


Mark Andre

Mark Andre