Thu 2nd July
Fri 3rd July
Sat 4th July
Sun 5th July
Mon 6th July
Tue 7th July
Wed 8th July
Thu 9th July
Fri 10th July
Sat 11th July
Sun 12th July
Mon 13th July
Tue 14th July
Wed 15th July
Thu 16th July
Fri 17th July
Sat 18th July
Sun 19th July
Thu 2nd July
Fri 3rd July
Sat 4th July
Sun 5th July
Mon 6th July
Tue 7th July
Wed 8th July
Thu 9th July
Fri 10th July
Sat 11th July
Sun 12th July
Mon 13th July
Tue 14th July
Wed 15th July
Thu 16th July
Fri 17th July
Sat 18th July
Sun 19th July

Venue

Albert Hall
Peter Street, Manchester M2 5QJ This venue is subject to licence

Peter Sellars Michelangelo Sonnets Eric Owens, Cameron Carpenter

...a true Russian resonance finding a perfect acoustic envelope in the hall… the double bill’s general impact was of a rarefied religious service.
SUNDAY TIMES CULTURE

Director Peter Sellars opened the Festival with a truly original evening of Shostakovich and Bach for voice and organ. The pairing of Eric Owens and Cameron Carpenter was inspired. Sellars’ subtle musical staging allowed Owens’ magnificent voice and Carpenter’s vibrant organ arrangement to be the centre of attention. The mood was perfectly matched by the atmosphere in the long-abandoned space and the fading light outside the windows.

This was MIF13’s first event in the rediscovered Albert Hall, a Wesleyan chapel not open to the public for 40 years.

Commissioned by Manchester International Festival.

Related Content


Michelangelo Sonnets: Video and Photos

Michelangelo Sonnets: Video and Photos

Michelangelo Sonnets: Video and Photos

Michelangelo Sonnets: Video and Photos

Michelangelo Sonnets: Video and Photos

Michelangelo Sonnets: Video and Photos

Michelangelo Sonnets: Video and Photos

Michelangelo Sonnets: Video and Photos

Michelangelo Sonnets: Video and Photos

Michelangelo Sonnets: Video and Photos

Michelangelo Sonnets: Video and Photos

Michelangelo Sonnets: Video and Photos

Michelangelo Sonnets: Video and Photos

Michelangelo Sonnets: Video and Photos

Michelangelo Sonnets: Video and Photos

Michelangelo Sonnets: Video and Photos

Michelangelo Sonnets: Video and Photos

Michelangelo Sonnets: Video and Photos

Michelangelo Sonnets: Video and Photos

Festival Square

What's On

Your Journey

Visitor Information

Box Office

0844 871 7654
Opening Hours
FAQs

Donate

Support MIF

Subscribe

Manchester International Festival is the world’s first festival of original, new work and special events and takes place biennially, in Manchester, UK. The Festival launched in 2007 as an artist-led, commissioning Festival presenting new works from across the spectrum of performing arts, visual arts and popular culture.


Manchester International Festival, Blackfriars House, Parsonage, Manchester M3 2JA
t +44 (0)161 817 4500 f +44 (0)161 839 2662 email info@mif.co.uk

© Manchester International Festival All Rights Site Map Privacy Terms & Conditions WEB