Thu 2nd July
Fri 3rd July
Sat 4th July
Sun 5th July
Mon 6th July
Tue 7th July
Wed 8th July
Thu 9th July
Fri 10th July
Sat 11th July
Sun 12th July
Mon 13th July
Tue 14th July
Wed 15th July
Thu 16th July
Fri 17th July
Sat 18th July
Sun 19th July
Thu 2nd July
Fri 3rd July
Sat 4th July
Sun 5th July
Mon 6th July
Tue 7th July
Wed 8th July
Thu 9th July
Fri 10th July
Sat 11th July
Sun 12th July
Mon 13th July
Tue 14th July
Wed 15th July
Thu 16th July
Fri 17th July
Sat 18th July
Sun 19th July

Venue

The Lowry
Pier 8, Salford Quays, Salford, M50 3AZ

The Life and Death of Marina Abramović

Following it's premiere at MIF13, Manchester International Festival took The Life and Death of Marina Abramović to tour the world.

Visually stunning, musically captivating and surprisingly warm, witty and human, this three-hour epic saw Marina Abramović hand her life, work and legacy over to legendary director Robert Wilson for him to remake entirely.

Drawing audiences from all over the world to witness what was neither theatre, opera nor art, but a thrilling crossbreed of all three, Life and Death featured spell-binding performances from all involved, including Abramović herself, plus Hollywood mainstay Willem Dafoe and musician Antony. This was a life-changing experience for audiences and participants alike.

'...what unfolded was a series of masterly scenes. Stunningly lit with a coruscating soundtrack and a sublimely tender score...the tragic-comic vignettes flow gorgeously past your eyes and ears. By the end, the audience are on their feet. Many have come here already aware they were entering the presence of genius. For those of us who discovered it for the first time, the night was even more special.'
THE INDEPENDENT

Luminato Festival, TORONTO
14-17 July 2013

Park Avenue Armoury, NEW YORK
12-23 December 2013

Teatro Real, MADRID
11 -  22 April 2012
 
Theater Basel, BASEL, SWITZERLAND
13, 14, 15 June 2012
 
Theater Carre, AMSTERDAM
22, 23, 24 June 2012
 
deSingel, ANTWERP
28, 29, 30 June 2012
 
 

Related Content


Festival Square

What's On

Your Journey

Visitor Information

Box Office

0844 871 7654
Opening Hours
FAQs

Donate

Support MIF

Subscribe

Manchester International Festival is the world’s first festival of original, new work and special events and takes place biennially, in Manchester, UK. The Festival launched in 2007 as an artist-led, commissioning Festival presenting new works from across the spectrum of performing arts, visual arts and popular culture.


Manchester International Festival, Blackfriars House, Parsonage, Manchester M3 2JA
t +44 (0)161 817 4500 f +44 (0)161 839 2662 email info@mif.co.uk

© Manchester International Festival All Rights Site Map Privacy Terms & Conditions WEB