Thu 2nd July
Fri 3rd July
Sat 4th July
Sun 5th July
Mon 6th July
Tue 7th July
Wed 8th July
Thu 9th July
Fri 10th July
Sat 11th July
Sun 12th July
Mon 13th July
Tue 14th July
Wed 15th July
Thu 16th July
Fri 17th July
Sat 18th July
Sun 19th July
Thu 2nd July
View All
Fri 3rd July
Sat 4th July
View All
Sun 5th July
View All
Mon 6th July
View All
Tue 7th July
View All
Wed 8th July
View All
Thu 9th July
View All
Fri 10th July
View All
Sat 11th July
View All
Sun 12th July
View All
Mon 13th July
View All
Tue 14th July
View All
Wed 15th July
View All
Thu 16th July
View All
Fri 17th July
View All
Sat 18th July
View All
Sun 19th July
View All

Venue

Campfield Market Hall
Campfield Avenue Arcade, Manchester, M3 4FH

The Machine
Starring Hadley Fraser and Francesca Annis
Written by Matt Charman, directed by Josie Rourke

Following it's premiere at MIF13, Manchester International Festival took The Machine to New York.

Given a stadium-style setting, Garry Kasparov’s battle against super computer Deep Blue — man vs machine — was thrown into relief by the human dramas unfolding around it. The emotional and dramatic possibilities of chess were unearthed and brought to vital, electric life in this whip-smart and carefully choreographed play, written by Matt Charman and directed by Josie Rourke.
Campfield Market Hall, a vast cavernous space originally a flower market, was the venue.

Commissioned by Manchester International Festival, Donmar Warehouse and Park Avenue Armory.

Charman is no ordinary playwright, as his immensely compelling firecracker script revealed. And Josie Rourke, who masterminded the production, is no ordinary director, as was shown by her skilful pacing of the action, by turns fast and furious, and then dramatically breaking into moments of unexpected poignancy.
THE INDEPENDENT

Park Avenue Armory, NEW YORK
4-18 September 2013

Related Content


The Machine: Photos and Video

The Machine: Photos and Video

The Machine: Photos and Video

The Machine: Photos and Video

The Machine: Photos and Video

The Machine: Photos and Video

The Machine: Photos and Video

The Machine: Photos and Video

The Machine: Photos and Video

The Machine: Photos and Video

The Machine: Photos and Video

The Machine: Photos and Video

The Machine: Photos and Video

The Machine: Photos and Video

The Machine: Photos and Video

The Machine: Photos and Video

The Machine: Photos and Video

The Machine: Photos and Video

The Machine: Photos and Video

The Machine: Photos and Video

The Machine: Photos and Video

The Machine: Photos and Video

The Machine: Photos and Video

The Machine: Photos and Video

The Machine: Photos and Video

The Machine: Photos and Video

The Machine: Photos and Video

The Machine: Photos and Video

The Machine: Photos and Video

The Machine: Photos and Video

The Machine: Photos and Video

The Machine: Photos and Video

The Machine: Photos and Video

The Machine: Photos and Video

The Machine: Photos and Video

The Machine: Photos and Video

The Machine: Photos and Video

The Machine: Photos and Video

The Machine: Photos and Video

The Machine: Photos and Video

The Machine: Photos and Video

The Machine: Photos and Video

The Machine: Photos and Video

The Machine: Photos and Video