Thu 2nd July
Fri 3rd July
Sat 4th July
Sun 5th July
Mon 6th July
Tue 7th July
Wed 8th July
Thu 9th July
Fri 10th July
Sat 11th July
Sun 12th July
Mon 13th July
Tue 14th July
Wed 15th July
Thu 16th July
Fri 17th July
Sat 18th July
Sun 19th July
Thu 2rd July
Fri 3rd July
Sat 4rd July
Sun 5rd July
Mon 6rd July
Tue 7rd July
Wed 8rd July
Thu 9rd July
Fri 10rd July
Sat 11rd July
Sun 12rd July
Mon 13rd July
Tue 14rd July
Wed 15rd July
Thu 16rd July
Fri 17rd July
Sat 18rd July
Sun 19rd July

Venue

Albert Hall
Peter Street, Manchester M2 5QJ This venue is subject to licence

The Masque of Anarchy Maxine Peake Directed by Sarah Frankcom

Clothed all in white, Peake seemed like a fiery angel as she fervently proclaimed “Such starvation cannot be as in England NOW we see.” Given only four performances, the performance was a call to political action that positively demands to be repeated.
THE GUARDIAN

In the reborn Albert Hall Maxine Peake and director Sarah Frankcom conjured the ghosts of Peterloo just yards from the site of the massacre, reciting all 37 verses of Shelley’s poem as the audience listened silently — a perfect accord of politics and place.

In the same room, in front of a packed and lively audience, Evan Davies led Are We Powerless?, a discussion on the ideas behind the poem and the possibility for protest in the modern world.

Commissioned by Manchester International Festival.

The Masque of Anarchy - Photos and Video

The Masque of Anarchy - Photos and Video

The Masque of Anarchy - Photos and Video

Festival Square

What's On

Your Journey

Visitor Information

Box Office

0844 871 7654
Opening Hours
FAQs

Donate

Support MIF

Subscribe

Manchester International Festival is the world’s first festival of original, new work and special events and takes place biennially, in Manchester, UK. The Festival launched in 2007 as an artist-led, commissioning Festival presenting new works from across the spectrum of performing arts, visual arts and popular culture.


Manchester International Festival, Blackfriars House, Parsonage, Manchester M3 2JA
t +44 (0)161 817 4500 f +44 (0)161 839 2662 email info@mif.co.uk

© Manchester International Festival All Rights Site Map Privacy Terms & Conditions WEB