Thu 2nd July
Fri 3rd July
Sat 4th July
Sun 5th July
Mon 6th July
Tue 7th July
Wed 8th July
Thu 9th July
Fri 10th July
Sat 11th July
Sun 12th July
Mon 13th July
Tue 14th July
Wed 15th July
Thu 16th July
Fri 17th July
Sat 18th July
Sun 19th July
Thu 2th July
Fri 3th July
Sat 4th July
Sun 5th July
Mon 6th July
Tue 7th July
Wed 8th July
Thu 9th July
Fri 10th July
Sat 11th July
Sun 12th July
Mon 13th July
Tue 14th July
Wed 15th July
Thu 16th July
Fri 17th July
Sat 18th July
Sun 19th July

Venue

Palace Theatre
Oxford St Manchester M1 6FT

The Old Woman Robert Wilson, Mikhail Baryshnikov, Willem Dafoe

Following its premiere at MIF13, Manchester International Festival took The Old Woman around the world.

Robert Wilson returned after the success of Life and Death of Marina Abramović (MIF11) with an adaptation of a Daniil Kharms short story starring Willem Dafoe and Mikhail Baryshnikov. The result was impossible to define; dance, theatre and astonishing visual design combined for this surreal sensory overload of a show — one that was also warm, funny and heartbreakingly human.

A Baryshnikov Productions, Change Performing Arts and The Watermill Center project.
Commissioned by Manchester International Festival, Spoleto Festival dei 2Mondi, Théâtre de la Ville-Paris/ Festival d’Automne à Paris and deSingel, Antwerp.

Robert Wilson’s lucid production… is a revelation… Baryshnikov and Dafoe are superb, managing to wring the pathos out of each of their bizarre encounters. We leave the theatre like awestruck victims of a magic trick, asking ourselves: how did they do that?
FINANCIAL TIMES

BAM Brooklyn Academy of Music, NEW YORK
22 - 29 June 2014

Spoleto56 Festival, PERUGIA, ITALY
12 - 14 July 2013

Onassis Cultural Centre, ATHENS
18 - 21 July 2013

Teatro dell'Arte, MILAN
16 - 20 October 2013

deSingel, ANTWERP
25 - 29 October 2013

Festival d'Automne, PARIS
6-23 November 2013

The Old Woman Photos and Video

The Old Woman Photos and Video

The Old Woman Photos and Video

The Old Woman Photos and Video

The Old Woman Photos and Video

The Old Woman Photos and Video

The Old Woman Photos and Video

The Old Woman Photos and Video

The Old Woman Photos and Video

The Old Woman Photos and Video

The Old Woman Photos and Video

The Old Woman Photos and Video

The Old Woman Photos and Video

The Old Woman Photos and Video

The Old Woman Photos and Video

The Old Woman Photos and Video

The Old Woman Photos and Video

The Old Woman Photos and Video

The Old Woman Photos and Video

The Old Woman Photos and Video

The Old Woman Photos and Video

The Old Woman Photos and Video

The Old Woman Photos and Video

The Old Woman Photos and Video

Festival Square

What's On

Your Journey

Visitor Information

Box Office

0844 871 7654
Opening Hours
FAQs

Donate

Support MIF

Subscribe

Manchester International Festival is the world’s first festival of original, new work and special events and takes place biennially, in Manchester, UK. The Festival launched in 2007 as an artist-led, commissioning Festival presenting new works from across the spectrum of performing arts, visual arts and popular culture.


Manchester International Festival, Blackfriars House, Parsonage, Manchester M3 2JA
t +44 (0)161 817 4500 f +44 (0)161 839 2662 email info@mif.co.uk

© Manchester International Festival All Rights Site Map Privacy Terms & Conditions WEB